//
post.
Korean, News

Jaebum (2PM) Sparks Controversy with his MySpace Page + Official Apology

jb_050909

Recently, Jaebum, the leader of 2PM, sparked a controversy with his previous posts from his MySpace page. The posts were from 4 years ago, and netizens (surprise) dug them up revealing what he said. These kinds of things include ‘Korea is gay’ and ‘i hate Korea’, which got netizens riled up. Lots of fans are either hating on him, or supporting him. I found that a lot of the international netizens’ argument was the fact it was from 4 years ago and that he doesn’t think like this anymore. Well, to be objective, we can’t know if he really doesn’t think like this anymore, since we’re not him. Either way, whether it was from 4 years ago or not, he’s in deep trouble. He issued an official apology. Just so you know, apparently he deleted his MySpace after this. I’m pretty sure this was his way of communicating with friends and family in the U.S. too…eh…

Other than that, netizens have been curious about the ‘Jessica’ at his place. Hm….

credit: sparkskey+ Newsen + KBites

Following the incident of the offending messages which 2PM leader JaeBum has posted up on his MySpace page being discovered, there are plans for him to come out to do an official apolgoy.

2PM’s representative said on 5th September, “There are plans for JaeBum to do an official apology on their official homepage. The problem here is that the post he posted was when he was young and first arrived in Korea, and was still not able to adapt to life in Korea.”

The rep also added, “Currently JaeBum is reflecting on his own actions. Do understand it as a thoughtless act of someone still young.”

The messages were posted up on JaeBum’s MySpace page in 2005 in the ‘About Me’ boardjb_050909


Some of the things he wrote:

  • “Korea is gay”
  • “I hate Koreans”
  • “I want to go back to the States again”
  • “Korea is whack… but everyone thinks I’m like the illest rapper when I suck nuts at rapping…”

And in 2007 before he was about to debut, he also wrote about how it was not his style:

  • “I’m like a gay version of myself”

He also wrote about his unhappiness about moving into together with other trainees in the company.

With these messages he wrote on his MySpace page revealed, netizens have gone on an outrage. There were

There were heated discussions about this on 2PM’s official homepage and on various portal sites.

Netizens say:

  • “The 2nd Steven Yoo”
  • “They should do an official press conference to explain this!”
  • “Just go back to America then”
  • “Seriously this is not something you can just apologise and hope everyone will forgive and forget”
  • “Even if he reflects on himself, people don’t change easily right?”
  • “Everyone is not perfect and makes mistakes. Netizens are making too much noise over this? Don’t you netizens make mistakes too?”
  • “i hate you. and you are a bad boy. im korean. you too.” (In English by one of the Korean netizens)
  • “This is the end for you”
  • “He beats GDragon at it this time”

There are many very mean bashes by the netizens going on online. I hope Jay pulls through this one well, only wish him the best.

UPDATE: JAY’S APOLOGY AS TRANSLATED BY [info]sparkskey

2PM Park Jaebum issues public apology ‘I’m really sorry and embarrassed’

2PM’s Park Jaebum has made an official apology over the comments made about Korea.
Jaebum posted on American social networking site in 2005 & 2007 saying ‘I want to go back to America’ ‘I hate Korea’, after such insulting comments have been found, he has received a lot of criticism.

Park Jaebum has confessed to posting such things at 12:13PM and posted at his fancafe with the title ‘Park Jaebum’s apology’, trying to express this apology through the post.

Jaebum said “I would like to apologize for the things I posted on myspace a few years ago. Sorry’ ‘and ‘I returned to Korea in Jan 05 when I was a high school student. Being born and bred in America, I had hardly any understanding of Korea, and when I first came to Korea, I couldn’t speak the language, couldn’t adapt to the food, and didn’t know and didn’t understand Korean culture’ ‘My family was all in America and when I came to Korea it seemed like everyone was being cold to me. I had no idea when I would debut and I was really lonely. It was a really difficult and lonely period for me due to various reasons. I missed home, felt like giving up and wanted to go back to my family in America.”explaining the reasons behind his posts.

Jaebum has issued a sincere apology saying ‘I posted such things because I really hated how I was living then and got really worked up. I was really young then and didn’t express myself well’ ‘I was young, didn’t have enough sense and because it was a difficult period, and I made these mistakes due to the situations I was facing at that point in time. I posted those words 4 years ago and I have completely changed since then. I will try not to make such mistakes in future’.

Jaebum’s apology letter are as follows:

Hello everyone, I’m 2PM’s Park Jaebum. I would like to apologize for the words I typed on myspace a few years ago. Sorry. I would like to explain my feelings then and apologize for them
I returned to Korea in Jan 05 when I was a high school student. Being born and bred in America, I had hardly any understanding of Korea, and when I first came to Korea, I couldn’t speak the language, couldn’t adapt to the food, and didn’t know and didn’t understand Korean culture

My family was all in America and when I came to Korea it seemed like everyone was being cold to me. I had no idea when I would debut and I was really lonely. It was a really difficult and lonely period for me due to various reasons. I missed home, felt like giving up and wanted to go back to my family in America.
I posted such things because I really hated how I was living then and got really worked up. I was really young then and didn’t express myself well’ ‘I was young, didn’t have enough sense and because it was a difficult period, and I made these mistakes due to the situations I was facing at that point in time.

And as time passed I forgot that I had ever posted such things. Looking back, I’m really sorry and embarrassed for writing such things. I have since adapted to Korea and completely changed my mind set. I’m thankful for all everything I went through so that I could perform on stage. I posted those words 4 years ago and I have completely changed since then.

Our family, Hottest and our 2PM members, I’m really sorry to everyone as well as everyone who loves 2PM.

About moonlightunes

from HKG > YVR > YUL > YYC 23 year old Hong Konger/Canadian with love for clothes and makeup, and always looking for a good bite!

Discussion

37 thoughts on “Jaebum (2PM) Sparks Controversy with his MySpace Page + Official Apology

  1. i forgive him. seriously, people CAN change. especially over 4 years. i mean comee on~ just because he said that? i’m 17 and i was raised in America and then all of a sudden at the age of 16, i came to Korea but i didn’t like it either and i understand him. i mean.. he was lonely.. so was i.. but now i like Korea and i’ve only been here for a year (almost) and i like it but think about 4 YEARS!!

    Posted by sollie. | 090907, 11:31 AM
  2. shit, i’m hmong and i be like…..i hate hmong people too, they are too white wash and always try to act gangster, as well to the movies and music……..they r kind of a embrassment coz they are so..horrible..& try to act dumb and stupid, (but sometime i say it for fun)but im not ashame to be hmong….jaebum mean no harm……they should just hopp off his stick, damn them, maybe we should petition who ever started the suicide petion to kill themself instead, such a disgrace to all the korean out there…… btw, i would like to say asian FANS r the worst, i feel bad for asian singers, coz SOME asian FAN r such an ass, can’t see that they(the singer) just want to do what they LOVE, yet they r always trying to bring them down …….for an example what happened to SNSD, ……DIASGRACE, im so ASHAMED

    Posted by kaykrazie | 090907, 10:43 PM
  3. sorry to say this but netizens are narrow-minded….actually my heart is filled with mixed emotions….I feel sorry for jay because of this and i’m mad at the people who are NARROW-MINDED..hello?!?! jay posted that comment few years ago?WHAT HE FEELS AT THAT TIME MAY NOT BE THE SAME RIGHT NOW!!AND TAKE NOTE THAT HE WAS JUST A BEGINNER WHEN HE WROTE THAT. THERE ARE SOME POSSIBILITIES WHY HE WROTE THAT AND IT HAS BEEN STATED IN HIS APOLOGY. SOME NETIZENS SAID THAT A PERSON MAY NOT CHANGE EASILY BUT BEAR IN MIND THAT IT CAN SPECIALLY WHEN A LOT OF PEOPLE IS LOVING YOU. EVEN HOW BAD A PERSON IS WHEN A LOT OF PEOPLE IS LOVING HIM AND HE FEELS THAT, BELIEVE IT OR NOT THAT PERSON MAY CHANGE EASILY…BEFORE THIS EVENT, I KNOW THAT MOST OF THE NETIZENS LOVE JAY THAT’S WHY THEY FIND A WAY TO KNOW JAY MORE. THEY JUST DIDN’T EXPECT THAT THERE IS SOMETHING BAD ABOUT KOREA THAT JAY POSTED. AND THAT MAKES THEM FEEL BETRAYED. tRY TO PUT YOURSELF IN JAY’S SHOES BEFORE OVERREACTING ON SOMETHING THAT HAD BEEN HAPPEN ALONG TIME AGO…

    Posted by princess | 090910, 2:17 AM
  4. i do believe jay has changed. i mean, it’s been 4 years! he cant still be hating korea after their awesome debut. we should really forgive. he was young and alone. it’s not a big deal after 4 years.

    Posted by super.junior.virus. | 090910, 8:36 AM
    • apparently AFTER he left, his other myspace comments were revealed, which showed he wanted to stay in Korea and that he referred to Korea with his friend as their ‘motherland’. so you’re right, he probably did change.

      Posted by moonlightunes | 090910, 8:38 PM
  5. i was so sad after heard that Jay leaves 2pm,i forgive him…everybody change..it happened 4years ago,FOUR YEARS AGO,what is this?he alread find his happiness there,he already got brothers there,they like family..that is what he want..he was lonely and on that time he dont how to speak hangul..he still dont indurstand korean culture..but now he already learn about korea and find a good career there and he got family which is he was the brother of six members boys-2pm..well,im not korean,im asian…not only korean girls cry about this news..here in my country..so far from korea..my friends,my sibling was so sad..at this moment,i dont want to hear 2pm’s songs until Jay come back to korea..i wish i could meet him and bring him back to korea.i’ll always pray to god that he will go back to Korea..and i hope the netizens forgive him..and they should think about this again..i hope Jay read our comment here..and Jay,please come back to korea..

    i believe he will go back to kore,and i will…

    Posted by Bluerry | 090912, 11:20 AM
  6. damn it was for years ago. wow

    Posted by Rada Rada Rada RAWR | 091002, 6:31 PM
  7. i think his apology is very sincere and no1 should blame him for something that happened ages ago!! look guys his reasons are very valid

    Posted by Layla | 091017, 10:14 AM
  8. I’m sure if you’re living like any trainee in Korea, you’d hate whereever you are and everyone around you. You’d think Koreans would understand. But then again, no one hates Koreans more than Koreans themselves. So don’t try to understand the system.

    Posted by I'm Korean too | 091019, 3:36 PM
  9. people are so narrow minded..they should like at them selves in the marior and see if they are a flawless person..cus we are humans..and i think god made us to perfection..it takes time and knowledge to get there..and obvisly he wasn’t at the age where he understood the situation..and like all teenagers they tend to speak and act their minds out..so people take a good look at your self before you start critisizing others to make you feel better bout your self..cus by doing that,,it makes you look even worse..and to jay..keep your head up..no matter wat people say..if they really are tru fans they wouldnt do such things..just for on little thing that happened soo long ago..

    Posted by khou her | 091027, 3:18 PM
  10. i forgive jay for wat he has sent cause he has changed since 4 years ago and hope that all his fans and of 2pm will also forgive him for wat he has said …The fans should support him and the other 2pm members even if they really feel that jaybum should be punished with wat he said but not everything is about how he was jugdin the keoeans but this was i guess the only thing to hve for expreesin his pain of home sickness …

    Posted by Fernlington | 091029, 2:09 PM
  11. my comment is a bit late but..
    this all is a bunch of BS. i don’t get why netizens flipped out and started bashing jay. who ever said he deserved it? they couldn’t even spit out some sympathy. its not his fault he felt hatred towards korea at the time when her first arrived there. hell, he’s like the most talented in the group of 2PM. show the love people. grow up and get a life. more so the netizens who were hating need to apologize to him face up. come back jay..

    Posted by ceelee123 | 091108, 4:43 PM
  12. sad…hope jeabum will come back to 2PM..
    just give him one chance..I’ve just started to like the group..unique group-world best..korean should proud to have them..
    n e way goodluck jeabum..we will wait for you..

    Posted by Heartbeat | 091127, 9:21 PM
  13. whatever u all said he already gone….. if ur word can bring back i will thank u….

    Posted by hottest | 091208, 5:32 AM
  14. honestly..
    he posted it lyk 5 years ago..
    imagine if we were @ his place..
    lived abroad 4 such a long time n all of a sudden u go bk 2 ur country n u dun evn know a single word of wat they’re saying..
    it’s really stressful..
    i understand..
    being treated lyk as if u’r a total alien frm another planet..
    i mean that happens..
    of course u’l feel left out n stressed out..
    he was in high school 4 god sake..
    c’mon people..
    i bet we all knw how high school students acts??
    he’s all grown up now..
    he knows wats right n wats not..
    i bet he’s missing his 2pm mates damn much..
    people tend to mke mistakes..
    no one’s perfect..

    Posted by koreanistic 89 | 100110, 6:28 AM
  15. everybody make a mistakes,nobody is perfect! specially he had that comment 4 yrs ago,he was so young and had a difficult time, move on peoples, this is the century 21, peoples have a freedom..freedom of speech for ex…:)
    I hope the producer or whoever behind this welcome him back and make it big!

    Posted by lavagirlxoxo | 100115, 12:33 AM
  16. He did nothing wrong. He wrote that out of frustration. I would have probably have done the same thing. Look that is when he didnt understand anything. now look at him he isn’t saying that now. is he.. you guys just pushed him out for no reason. i hate you ppl now that couldn’t even understand

    Posted by Sayuri | 100125, 8:30 PM
  17. ..oohh..poor Jeabum..What he said years ago doesn’t matter..what matters is that he had change..isn’t it??..and everybody makes mistakes..so why are the netizens making this a big deal..??

    Posted by bigbang's_ViP | 100130, 10:11 AM
  18. i really miss jae so much…..i hope he will come back asap..this is not his fault…he just too young… whatever people says about him..i will forever support jae…

    Posted by JAY FANS | 100206, 8:44 PM
  19. Yeah, sad,, n It was suck, i think netizens was exaggerated to what jay wrote,, he even tried to appologize and mentioned d’reason why he did it… And Oh c’mon, netizens! It was expired! 4 years ago, man! People got change in every possible way! Why so bother??

    Posted by Ind | 100222, 10:49 AM
  20. well now its 2010 and I want to tell you to come
    back to 2pm cause they all care about you and
    your fans and I want you back the music is
    wonderful but it will have a better sound to it
    if you stayed we all miss you and so does 2pm
    please come back please we love you.

    Posted by izabella | 100301, 8:18 PM
  21. Whats up dude your okay and all but i dont care if u dont come back u suck and all and i dont even listrn to u my sister does and u sound horriable peace jk your awsome.

    Posted by austin | 100301, 8:20 PM
  22. That was my brother and he was jokeing and that was mean I know but he likes your music but
    he is mean like that so dont get sad please
    cause I love you JAEBEOM!

    Posted by izabella | 100301, 8:23 PM
  23. ah….i feel so bad for Jaebeom….but those were really nasty comments…People shouldn’t be so hard on him….too bad he lives in Seatle now…

    Posted by Toya RIma | 100310, 2:49 PM
  24. just today i heard about jeabum i am so sad .Jeabum we love you please come back to your friends i love you .you are always in our hearts.We will so happy when you come back.ALL MY LOVE FOOOOOOOOOOR YOU.

    Posted by chaima | 100321, 10:22 AM
  25. i forgive him ..a lot of thing can happen in 4 years..what the hell..that thing happen years ago ..he already change..why can’t they understand his freaking side…i feel sorry for him coz even some of his co-members can’t understand his situation..and some of his fan….TO ALL OF 2pm’s fan…why can’t you just forget that part and just forgive him from that mistake..everybody deserves a second chance ..if GOD forgave us why can’t we…MAKE SENSE.if only you’re in the same situation as jay …and a piece of advice for those ANTI- …why can’t you just stop being FREAKS…if you don’t like them stop making issues or stop minding them…JUST MIND YOUR OWN BUSSINESS …GET A LIFE>.:]…
    GO jaebum…<3

    Posted by dianne | 100406, 12:28 AM
  26. Well, that posts were 3 or 4 years ago!!
    I can feel how he might feel and that time!
    The lonely feeling and the feeling that I’m suck at everything, when will I be official star? I can even speak Korean well!!

    That might be what he felt, plus the stress from training must have made him had twice trouble!

    So please understand him!! Even If he had left now, please remember what good
    side and what u love about him in your heart, keep that good memories and let him go without more regret!!

    Posted by Love_2pm | 100425, 2:55 AM
  27. Come on people, don’t you have any idea how harsh the world of a trainee is?! Their training days are just so intense, who wouldn’t hate it? Plus, coming to a new country and not knowing the language, not knowing anybody, you’re away from your family, feeling like an outsider, of course he would hate it. I know I hated American when I first moved here and talked shit about this country to my friends back home, but seriously, once I learned the language and adapted to America, it’s hard to imagine going back. I completely understand his reasons and people should too. It takes time to adjust and that was four years ago, give him a break people.

    Posted by Maya | 110112, 10:55 PM
  28. yeah i know very late reply but……. netizens you suck! i hate youse, i HATE what you Did .. i hate evryone that is hating on JAe. .. he was friggin young seriously he was YOUNG!!! YOUNG!! do you understand what that means? … they go crazy, they have issue’s then they grow up. of course someone is going hate on a country they dont know, …. but After you get used to it everything changes you start to love and respect the country. SO why dont you build a bridge and GET OVER IT!

    – Jae YOU have to come back … looking through the photos it just odd with out their old leader back T.T miss your voice <3

    Posted by Kai | 110718, 10:44 PM
  29. omgggg… most people forgave him now… but still I think some Netizens should get a life cause what good if it does to go and tell someone “Get out of korea! go back to states” or something like that AND THEN start forgiving Jaybeom….

    Sometimes I think Netizens are the WORST people out there sometimes not all but there are annoying ones out there.

    Example – They go criticizing him for just venting out his feelings when SOMEONE on the other hand goes hacking someones myspace and etc actin like its all right
    AND they dont try thinking about THEMSELVES going to a country that you barely know and havent spent any of your time there and it just feels out of place… THEN when you start like that country some stalkers on the internet gets you kicked out of that country -.-

    Posted by Theresa Huynh | 110924, 1:00 AM
  30. i really love them when there are six members, but i even love them more when there are 7 members with Jay as leader..hope to see them together one more time..and it will be super hit from 2PM..jay, comeback plz..~

    Posted by lunna | 120113, 2:56 PM
  31. jay was so pitiful i cried so much even though i’m a jwalker since only 6months? i searched everything bout jay and 2pm and i cried so much cuz i felt so bad for jay but now i’m happy that he’s doing his own music and he’s free like a bird! hehe i mean he does everything what he wants and writes the songs in his way if he was in 2PM he wouldn’t be able to do that all and there wouldn’t be even us Jwalkerz i’m so thankful to this guy for existing!
    and those who still can’t forgive jay i think they’re just such cold hearted, stupid bitches who call themselves a real HOTTEST cuz hottest and jwalkerz shouldn’t bash on each other’s bias since even 2PM and Jay are wishing each other success
    keep calm and jaywalk jwalkerz! love and respect ma boy

    Posted by Jwalkaarz | 120721, 10:41 PM
  32. jay has changed a lot.. people shud forgive him.. we shud forgive.. people made a mistakes all the time.. god can forgive him so why not us?

    Posted by Aiona Maramara Torres | 120927, 8:22 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Jaebum to be Kicked Off Variety Show? + Wooyoung’s Minihompy Post + Hottest Petition to Support Jaebum « ☆ m o o n l i g h t u n e s. - 090906

  2. Pingback: jaebum 2pm | Random Hot News - 090908

  3. Pingback: EspresSeoul | Idol yang Pernah Tersangkut Kontroversi Gara-gara Satu Pernyataan - 130628

Leave a comment